AB   C   DEFGH   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   RST   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), no longer uses the terms substance abuse and substance dependence, rather it refers to substance use disorders, which are defined as mild, moderate, or severe, which is determined by the number of diagnostic criteria met by an individual.

Substance use disorders occur when the recurrent use of alcohol and/or drugs causes clinically and functionally significant impairment, such as health problems, disability, and failure to meet major responsibilities at work, school, or home.

The DSM-5 lists 10 classes of substances for which the diagnoses of substance use disorder can be given: alcohol; cannabis (marijuana); phencyclidine (PCP); other hallucinogens (e.g., LSD); inhalants (e.g., paint thinner); opioids (e.g., heroin); sedatives, hypnotics or anxiolytics (e.g., Valium, barbiturates, sleeping pills); stimulants (e.g., cocaine); tobacco; and other (or unknown).

Educational Resources

Support Groups

Find a Mental Health Care Provider

Find a Treatment Facility


Substance Use Disorder Related Offerings at HHC

Additional Resources

TED TALK: Jacki Hillios – Moving past addiction, (you are not your disease)